02
Sep
09

Hetalia Axis Powers episode 32

Two posts in one day? I think this is the first time I’ve ever done that! Mainly thanks to Hetalia and Sora no Manimani getting subbed on the same day, which just so happened to be the same day I was making my monthly roundup. Hetalia gets blogged before Manimani because it attracts about 10 times more hits. I’m not exaggerating either, I’ve actually seen the search term ‘Scamp Hetalia’ come up a few times. Come on Hetalia fangirls, could some of you read my other posts?

vlcsnap-30718

It might be hard to convince you to watch something else when Hetalia is producing episodes of this quality though.

I'd be pretty scared if he turned up in my dreams aswell

I'd be pretty scared if he turned up in my dreams aswell

Mwahaha, I absolutely loved this episode of Hetalia. The Roman Empire is great isn’t he? He’s turned up a grand total of twice, here and that epic song by the island, and both times he was hilarious. The horror Germany got when he saw his idol in the flesh and he turned out to be some letch, ah the poor lad (nice little historical reference there too. Every great military conqueror wanted to emulate the Romans. Or Alexander the Great. Come to think of it, where is Greece? I think he’s appeared once when he was unloading his shopping really slowly and that’s it). Ah, there was so much about this episode I loved, even though it was only 5 minutes long. I think I’ll have to split this post up a bit to tackle this properly.
 1: Historical Comedy
vlcsnap-31441
I love it when Hetalia tosses in random lines that just kill when taken in historical context. I already mentioned Germany’s idol, but there was also Rome’s own description of his rise to power being the highlight (I just beat up a few Carthaginians) along with his freeloading personality. Ah, he’s a great character. Shame this is most likely the only time we’ll see him for a long time. He probably only comes along as often as Christmas…oh wait.
2: Personality Quirks
 vlcsnap-30881I’ve talked enough about Rome this far but it was Germany that made me laugh the most in this episode. He’s perfect foil to pretty much any character in the series. He’s probably become my favourite character thus far, mainly due to his embarrassed and over-the-top reactions to everything and anything, particularly to Italy sleeping in his bed. I know a lot of this is fangirl fodder and I could see the inevitable doujins that could spring as a result of his conversation with Rome, but if they’re still funny then who cares! One of my worries before I started Hetalia was that the fangirl pandering would be far too jarring for me to handle but for the most part that just hasn’t been the case.
(BTW you have to love Japan answering the phone in a housewife costume)
3: D’awww Moments
 vlcsnap-32160Normally, Hetalia sucks at these but this time they pulled it off remarkably well. Even more remarkable was that it wasn’t the Germany/Italy combo that pulled it off. It was Rome all by himself. Actually that was quite a sad moment at the end, Rome getting that one day out of heaven to see his grandson. In fact I’m hugely impressed Hetalia managed to pull that one off and made me feel as sad as I did during Grave of the Fireflies. OK, I take that back, nothing will ever toss me into that pit of despair that Fireflies did, but for a ridiculous historical comedy like Hetalia, that single poignant moment was far beyond what I thought it could achieve.
Germany looking frightfully bishie. Why if I wasn't a hetrosexuel male, I might...

Germany looking frightfully bishie. Why if I wasn't a hetrosexuel male, I might...

I’ve said it time and time again, Hetalia could be one of the greatest anime comedies of all time if it was able to produce episodes like this more frequently. Maybe at the end of the series I’ll make a post about the ‘ideal Hetalia’ where only the best episodes are chosen to create the perfect 13 episode series. Actually I have loads of ideas for posts when this series comes to a close. But for now, in true Hetalia fashion, let us make a toast with our boots for one of the best episodes Hetalia has produced.
vlcsnap-123390
Cheers, Kampai, Santei, Prost, Salute! And hundreds of other languages I don’t know about! 

26 Responses to “Hetalia Axis Powers episode 32”


  1. 1 Monsturr
    2 September 2009 at 7:19 am

    Admittedly, I found this site through one of your Hetalia posts, but I’ve come to keep an eye on all of your posts; I’ve started watching Sora no Manimani as well Hale Guu thanks to this site, and I intend to watch many more that have been recommended here (and will be recommended in the future). I even have an idea on what anime to look out for this season thanks to your season preview.

    Also, uh, I recall from a previous Hetalia post you made that you couldn’t wait for Russia’s Marukaite Chikyuu? Well, if you’re not already aware of it, there’s a preview of his song available somewhere; I know you can find it on YouTube. China’s preview is out now as well.

    Actually on-topic, I loved this episode too, yes I did. Although I can’t help but wonder why Germany has a big bowl of potatoes just lying around in his room for no reason. 😐 Hum.

  2. 2 Humanity_Cat
    2 September 2009 at 9:57 am

    (*uck you Explorer for closing down twice and erasing my long posts…. -__-)

    Anyways, I thought this was a great episode! Grampa Rome really topped it off, I’d say, he’s so damn funny! ‘I came to see my favorite grandson! Oh! You’re so damn cute!’ *cuddlehuggle* I wonder if they’ll ever do an episode with Germania….but he’s pretty serious….haha. This was a nice change of wind from all the Christmas episodes, I have say… ^ ^

    In response to: ‘Hetalia gets blogged before Manimani because it attracts about 10 times more hits. I’m not exaggerating either, I’ve actually seen the search term ‘Scamp Hetalia’ come up a few times. Come on Hetalia fangirls, could some of you read my other posts?’ Well from my experiance, you have the best Hetalia blogs that I’ve read. 😉 So that really doesn’t suprise me….plus, your Sora no ManiMani blog has turned me on to it, so I need to catch up with that, and I’ve also become interested in RomeoXJuliet, since I happen to like that Shakespeare play.I do also read your summer preview…and are interested in several more upcoming animes….That ‘Magic Japanese Trains’ or whatever it is cracked me up. Who came up with THAT idea?! I’m mostly just not a big anime person…..Hetalia is great/bad because it is only five minutes long…and I swear I’ve lost half my eyesight from staring at the computer….

    ‘I’d be pretty scared if he turned up in my dreams aswell’ Gods…he’s even scarier than the BurgerKing commercials….and those are pretty damn scary. (Sorry, might not make a lot of sense if you don’t live in America)

    Grampa Rome is so fricken funny! ‘You don’t have sex on the road?!’ ‘Maybe a little bit of !@#$ on the beach?!?!’ I actually thought that it was Greece in the beginning, but the lack of cats told me otherwise, haha.

    I loved Germany’s reaction to Italy in his bed, killer. And is it just me, or does Germany look…younger with his hair all…beddy?

    I think the only part I didn’t like in this episode was the last mention to God….I’m sincerly hoping that that was more of a referance to Germany/Roman Empire’s religious background and not a religion setting for the whole anime…We’ve already heard France’s views on religion (haha), come on China! Go stick your head in there and show some Taoism or Buddhism! (Which actually doesn’t make a differance to me….haha, as I’m not any of these religions. ^ ^) But otherwise, it wasn’t a bad episode! Definitely made up for the Japan/England one!

    Holey crap…this post might be even longer than my first post ever on this blog!

  3. 3 Humanity_Cat
    2 September 2009 at 10:41 am

    Haha, I just listened to Russia and China’s pre-songs. 🙂 I can’t wait until the full verion comes out….*dreamy fangirl smile*

    It was interesting to hear China’s because of the ‘wo’ inferance (haha, never stopping, are you Japan? XD) and the fact that the voice actor is female. 🙂 Or so I believe….o.O (Yay women subbing for men!)

    I kind of wish they would come out in their own language (Japan/Japanese, America/English, Fance/French, Russia/Russian) ect., I think that would be cool….but I like Japanese! I think I’ve learned like 20 Japanese words ever since I’ve started watching Hetalia/Sora no ManiMani, haha.

  4. 2 September 2009 at 6:26 pm

    @Monsturr

    You mean you don’t have a bowl of potatoes lying in your room? Great that you’re watching Hare+Guu, that anime just doesn’t get as much exposure as it deserves.

    @Humanity_Cat

    The longest post I made creates the longest comments from yourself. I guess I ought to write even more in my Hetalia posts.

    I keep forgetting that not everyone is such an anime nut as myself and don’t watch 8 shows a season. I keep having to cut back on the references I make to random other anime when making a post (although I go all out when making Sora no Manimani, usually about 5 different shows referenced randomly throughout). I’ve never seen Romeo X Juliet myself since that was blogged by Brian before I even came to the blog. Tell me if it’s any good.

    I never thought about the religious context when Rome said that. Although I’m completely Athiest myself, I kinda forget that not every religion believes in God. Ah well, it worked in the context of the episode so I have no complaints

  5. 5 Humanity_Cat
    2 September 2009 at 11:02 pm

    …that’s pretty true. I just noticed how long this one was.

    Unfortunatly, I’m finding that the longer I stay on this anime blog, the more I find interest in the different animes….*thinking about starting Spice and Wolf* Gods….I’m never going to get any homework done at this rate….
    RomeoXJuliet sounded interesting, but I’ll probably won’t start it for a while….25 minute episodes are harder to find time to sit down and watch compared to five minutes.

    It’s probably just me…I’ve always been a little irked by higher powers/public entertainment mentioning one religion, if they’re not about religion, of course. 😉 *is an atheist as well* But you’re right, it did work, it’s just a little complaint by me. *haha*

  6. 3 September 2009 at 1:30 am

    Yes, i really got a laugh out of Roman Empire mind raping Germany with his lecherousness…XP

    I’m not sure if I like Germany better with his hair slicked back, or with it all shaggy and messy…it’s a difficult chioce…

    Everyone has done really long posts…dammit. This is a short one. I’ll stop now. Now. NOW-

  7. 7 luffyluffy
    3 September 2009 at 2:15 am

    wait wait, China’s preview is finally out? I’ve only heard Russias, and it had me putting Tsuruya’s laughter to shame. Germany was so sweet in this episode, tbh, and HIS HAAAAIRRRRR!! *explode*

    Though, this episode brought something to my attention. His hair and his eyebrows are different colors :O

    As for Italy in his bed… Italy normally sleeps totally naked, not with a pink wife beater 😛

  8. 8 luffyluffy
    3 September 2009 at 2:53 am

    So… I totally like Russia’s more ._. Which makes no sense because Russia isnt exactly my favorite character DX

  9. 9 albertleturtle
    3 September 2009 at 6:05 am

    Sorta makes me wonder what his visit to see Romano was like…

  10. 10 Humanity_Cat
    3 September 2009 at 10:06 am

    Damn my large posts…. >.<

    Quote from: 'As for Italy in his bed… Italy normally sleeps totally naked, not with a pink wife beater'

    Yeah, wouldn't that be Finland? XD Haha

    I love Russia….he's awesome! XD But I agree, I do like Russia's better….his voice is so…..

  11. 3 September 2009 at 7:22 pm

    @ksfwolfe

    Do not fret my son. All comments are treated equally whether they are big or small on this blog. Let all lurkers turn into loyal commenters! Viva la revolution!

    @Humanity_Cat

    Your long first comment probably scared off some of the lurkers from commenting you know…

    Ah Spice and Wolf. That was my first series I watch as it aired in Japan. It’s certainly worth a pop, it’s hard to dislike. I could reccommend loads of series to you but really you should just go at your own pace when it comes to selecting series to watch. I’ve taken to picking 6 random series and rolling a dice to pick a new series to watch.

    @luffyluffy

    I’m not going to listen to any of the character songs for now. I’m going to hold out until they appear in the anime itself.

    LOL at wife beater. It would look far more menacing if it wasn’t pink

  12. 12 luffyluffy
    4 September 2009 at 1:25 am

    I was actually talking to Humanity cat(Sorry D:) But Russia’s voiced by the same guy who does Gluttany, from FMA. France is also Vash the Stampede, American is Kamina and every damn bishie under the sun, Germany is Chad from Bleach, England is Sasuke, and… That’s all I can remember right now ._.

  13. 13 Humanity_Cat
    4 September 2009 at 8:27 am

    (Scamp)Ah…what a depressing thought….sorry lurkers. I think it was mostly my quotes from your post and my small rant at the end that really made it…huge… ^ ^;

    I’ll probably get to it in October or November…(Spice and Wolf)

    (Luffy)Gods…I don’t know any of those people… ^^; haha, sorry!

  14. 14 luffyluffy
    4 September 2009 at 9:20 am

    … YOU DONT KNOW WHO KAMINA IS?!

    he’s the manly man with the manly ass sunglasses

    Now, excuse me while I wonder how the hell it works

  15. 4 September 2009 at 9:30 am

    @Scamp

    Yes…COME OUT LURKERS! COME OUT OF THE CLOSET AND STAND UP FOR WHAT YOU BELEIVE IN! LIKE GERMANY WITH BEDHEAD AND ROMAN EMPIRE EATING RAW POTATOS!

  16. 16 Humanity_Cat
    4 September 2009 at 11:10 am

    ‘… YOU DONT KNOW WHO KAMINA IS?!’ *meep!*

    Haha, nice ksfwolfe! Hurr….maybe I should try posting in a smaller text….

    test

  17. 17 Humanity_Cat
    4 September 2009 at 11:10 am

    (Dang…epic fail… T.T)

  18. 4 September 2009 at 4:24 pm

    @pretty much everyone

    KICK REASON TO THE CURB! DON’T BELIEVE IN THE POTATOES WHO BELIEVE IN YOU, DON’T BELIEVE IN THE LURKERS WHO LURK IN THE COMMMENTS WHO READ THE POST. BELIEVE IN YOURSELF! YOUR COMMENT WILL BE THE COMMENT TO PIERCE THE HEAVENS

    WHO THE HELL DO YOU THINK WE ARE!!!!!!!!

  19. 19 Humanity_Cat
    5 September 2009 at 8:26 am

    …I…have no comment to that… ^ ^;

  20. 20 sesquipedalian
    9 September 2009 at 4:12 am

    I love reading your blogs. The Hetalia are just so good. Heh, a bit late to say this, but Chibitalia annoys me as well.

    In the comic strip (english version of Roman Empire’s visit found on aph starry sky) they show a last picture of God tied up.

    I liked this episode a lot.

  21. 9 September 2009 at 4:16 am

    @sesquipedalian

    Why the hell did they not show God tied up!?!?!?! That would have been hilarious, goddam you Deen. Well it might have ruined the emotional impact of the scene but still…

    Hooray for another Chibitalia hater. Oh, and hooray for another person who likes my blog as well

  22. 22 luffyluffy
    9 September 2009 at 4:27 am

    Tbh, Chibitalia(as a character) was freaking adorable. I’d totally shoutalust that.

    After I was dont shoutalusting HRE, of course >:3

  23. 23 Humanity_Cat
    9 September 2009 at 10:15 am

    Gods that would have been fricken halarious!

  24. 24 luffyluffy
    12 September 2009 at 6:34 am

    Uh, what the hell? Where are the subs for 33?

  25. 16 September 2009 at 4:09 pm

    ooh. Cool it good.Thanks for sharing this with us!

  26. 26 meka
    3 September 2011 at 5:16 am

    what episode is pic 2???


Leave a comment


Irashaimasen

Welcome to Bokutachi no Blog. That's "Our Blog" in Japanese. Our Anime Blog, to be exact. And if you landed to this page by accident, probably in search for ecchi stuff, then you should regret to have hit this page. Don't worry, this blog is children-safe and no misdemeanor acts here. Sorry, you bald, middle-aged perverts. But thanks for the hit anyway.

RSS Danny Choo RSS

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Blog Extra