13
Nov
09

Revisiting Full Metal Panic

Full_Metal_Panic_TSR_01[v2].DVD(H264.AC3_5.1)[KAA][18A707F4].mkv_snapshot_01.18_[2009.11.13_14.51.19]-resized

Written for Kaza, with love from Loba.

For the sake of brevity, I will just introduce a brief look into Full Metal Panic! The second raid, the 2nd or 3rd season depending on how you look at it, in this case, let’s take it as Season 2.

Full Metal Panic!, What is it about?

Full_Metal_Panic_TSR_11.DVD(H264.AC3_5.1)[KAA][10FDF046].mkv_snapshot_21.07_[2009.11.13_14.20.43]-resized

Booze

Full_Metal_Panic_TSR_11.DVD(H264.AC3_5.1)[KAA][10FDF046].mkv_snapshot_16.14_[2009.11.13_14.20.03]-resized

Sex

Full_Metal_Panic_TSR_02.DVD(H264.AC3_5.1)[KAA][F76D3DDF].mkv_snapshot_09.08_[2009.11.13_14.18.35]-resized

Yuri

Full_Metal_Panic_TSR_06.DVD(H264.AC3_5.1)[KAA][53B28A06].mkv_snapshot_17.04_[2009.11.13_14.29.04]-resized

Kaza? Kaza?! You still there?
FINALLY you ran out of tissue. Ok, I’m just kidding Kaza, you can pick your jaw off the floor now. Our main character ain’t a booze swinging casanova and these ain’t the main themes though they are included heh.

Full Metal Panic!, What is it (truly) about?

Long story short, in the first season, mithril presents itself as a mercency organisation, guns for hire to nations with a twist: They are ‘saviours of justice’ with incredibly advance technology. Boozeboy, 16-17 year old, very much a military brat, is part of the organisation and participated in missions that seemingly always bring him back to school.

Full_Metal_Panic_TSR_06.DVD(H264.AC3_5.1)[KAA][53B28A06].mkv_snapshot_06.40_[2009.11.13_16.02.46]-resized

Introducing Sagara Sousuke, main protagonist and his beau mission: stalking Kaname Chidori.

I won’t spoil anyone reading this so just go watch Season 1, GO GO GO! It would be necessary as Season 2 occasionally references Season 1. Besides, even though the pacing seems disorienting, with the occasional swing from dead seriousness to comedic school life, the serious parts are pretty well done and well, there’s whooping great mecha action!

Full_Metal_Panic_TSR_01[v2].DVD(H264.AC3_5.1)[KAA][18A707F4].mkv_snapshot_01.23_[2009.11.13_14.50.51]-resized

If you don’t like mecha, you could watch Season 1.5 : Full Metal Panic? Fumoffu which is extremely hilarious without the serious mecha actions included. Trust me, even if you are a female(introduced it to a few gals and they loved it, now they love me too XD) and don’t really like mecha, Fumoffu is a series that delivers the comedic punch episode after episode, lots of parodies included for those who are sharp enough too!

Full_Metal_Panic_TSR_06.DVD(H264.AC3_5.1)[KAA][53B28A06].mkv_snapshot_09.41_[2009.11.13_14.29.59]-resized

This might not be from fumoffu but no prizes for guessing which anime it’s parodying.

So what’s so captivating about Full Metal panic besides

Full_Metal_Panic_TSR_04.DVD(H264.AC3_5.1)[KAA][AD35B3AF].mkv_snapshot_06.46_[2009.11.13_14.17.53]-resized

Dual scimitar wielding hot babe

Full_Metal_Panic_TSR_13.DVD(H264.AC3_5.1)[KAA][55633D2C].mkv_snapshot_10.16_[2009.11.13_14.35.51]-resized

And badass mecha standing around looking cool

A few things really make the second raid entertaining to watch, decent character development, I say decent because for Second Raid, 13 episodes doesn’t allow much time to develop all the side characters. Another thing is the pretty realistic portrayal of military organisations, plans and equipments take time to unfold and progress which other mecha shows mostly conveniently bypass. Equipments jam, things overheat, people make the wrong call/decisions resulting in much death and destruction. And the best for the last: a psychotic villain in Season 2 that makes for eye raising scenes (remember the tissue scene?) They are not your run of the mill EVIL VILLAIN WHO WANTS TO RULEZ/DESTROY the world (for whatever reason). If you do watch Prison Break, remember T-bag? Yea, villains who are psychopaths. But psychopaths with a plan.

Full_Metal_Panic_TSR_02.DVD(H264.AC3_5.1)[KAA][F76D3DDF].mkv_snapshot_13.03_[2009.11.13_14.25.15]-resized

White coat psychotic villain.

Full_Metal_Panic_TSR_02.DVD(H264.AC3_5.1)[KAA][F76D3DDF].mkv_snapshot_13.07_[2009.11.13_14.25.26]-resized

See the blimp on the river? That was the guy beside psychotic villain.

Full_Metal_Panic_TSR_12.DVD(H264.AC3_5.1)[KAA][830BA3A4].mkv_snapshot_11.18_[2009.11.13_14.23.37]-resized

Same guy who survived the river swim. His boss in the red mecha.

Full_Metal_Panic_TSR_12.DVD(H264.AC3_5.1)[KAA][830BA3A4].mkv_snapshot_11.20_[2009.11.13_14.24.04]-resized

Oops, that was intentional. Doubt he’s surviving THAT.

Full_Metal_Panic_TSR_10.DVD(H264.AC3_5.1)[KAA][69203B88].mkv_snapshot_17.02_[2009.11.13_14.11.41]-resized

Pardon the expletive but this show is just f***ing 1337.

One thumb up for Season 1, two thumbs up for Season 1.5, two hands both feet up for Season 2! Watch all 3 seasons and you won’t regret it. I know there’s much more one can say about the show so feel free to comment on why you loved the Full metal Panic series or why you don’t like it as much as I do. Maybe I’m just biased since it was the first non-mainstream show I watched after Gundam Seed, Bleach and naruto around 3 years ago. No matter, this show drove me to purchase one of my first few figures:

fmp

These cost a bomb, around SGD$80 for five freaking 10cm tall figures. But totally worth it since they have good articulation for their size.

ats82016

Never got to finding the second set….anyone have?

r_g0000001850_0_02

Winterfest specials, fat hope of ever acquiring any of them.

But all is not lost! Companies actually recognise the (lackofrelatedmerchandise) huge fanbase and released/are releasing Full Metal Panic figures. There was the 13000+ yen(Wtf yea) arbalest released by Alter around half a year ago.

It’s like the GFF of FMP. Great articulation, cockpit opens up, lots of accessories but only 14.5 cm tall.

And here’s what I’m gonna preorder next month!!! Revoltech ARX-7 Arbalest and it’s descendant ARX-8 Laevatein, found in novels but not the anime, think both each around 12.5 cm, will set me back by around SGD$90. Robot damashii had released Arbalest but I feel it’s a scam by bandai and totally so not worth it imo.

Robot Damashii Bonta-Kun – This on the other hand is worth buying, key character in Season 1.5! Sets me back SGD$48. Just in case you are wondering, I don’t usually buy a lot of figures, the last one was 1 year ago, the figma Hatsune Miku. On a spending craze for FMP figures since I just finished rewatching all 3 seasons of FMP for the 3rd time.

Yesterday was my last day of the semester before examinations begin so I afforded some time to write this post. This WILL be the last post till december so wish me all the best for my examinations. Hope this is informative to you, Kaza. Loba out.


10 Responses to “Revisiting Full Metal Panic”


  1. 13 November 2009 at 6:36 pm

    FMP, I just rewatched fumoffu and TSR last month. I love the baseball team episode.

    I’m waitting for the new season until my neck is long… if you want to know the story and how Laevatein kick ass, read the manga “Full Metal Panic! Sigma” instead ^___^

  2. 13 November 2009 at 8:36 pm

    @B-mecha: One of my favourite is the homework left at home and the hot springs one, the seed mode parody was too awesome! Lol.

    Yea, the new season will probably be what, late next year or perhaps next next year? Too bad novel is soooo slow….

  3. 13 November 2009 at 9:48 pm

    I have to agree completely about this series. Full Metal Panic was great to watch without question. It really had some great characters and even the villains were quite good. The villains were pretty deadly in the second season especially and I wasn’t sure who was going to survive.

    Besides Sousuke was just a fun character. Tossing someone like him into regular school life which is incredibly alien to him. Makes me want to rewatch all the seasons just for the great moments in there.

  4. 4 kaza
    14 November 2009 at 4:45 am

    Wow…

    Booze, sex, and yuri chicks… What more can a guy want?! Scratch that, *cough*.
    *Throws away the 50th box of tissues*
    *starts using a towel to clean the blood from nose*

    I actually AM interested to start watching… buuut, the things is I have some other shows I’m busy with this season and next season. I consider myself a 5lb premature baby when it comes to anime. Yea, I’ve watched like 50 different shows but they were all unimportant ones.

    I still haven’t watched Afro Samurai, Full Metal Panic, Claymore, Code Geass, Death Note and so on. I have’nt actually made plans on watching these, and I don’t even know if I will like them, hence if that happens I obviously won’t finish watching them…

    Shows that I haven’t watched and WON’T watch are FMA, Gundam, Bleach, Naruto and so on.
    And It’s not because I hate them, it’s only because they are VEEERY far from the type of anime that I like to watch. Take DTB for example… It has NOTHING to do with my type, but the animation and the story and the quality are SO DANG GOOD, there’s no waay I could say no to DTB.

  5. 14 November 2009 at 11:43 pm

    Afro Samurai – Haven’t watch, can’t comment
    Full Metal Panic – Awesome beyond words, applies for season 2 and 3.
    Claymore – Nice but not that great, I expect a reboot in future.
    Code Geass – Totally Awesome.
    Death Note – Reading the manga gives much more satisfaction or maybe since I bought Book 1 long before the movie or anime came out…so….

    In short, fmp -> code geass. Will be great.

    Sure way to start on fmp is to watch fumoffu season 2 first, you will laugh your pants off. Oh wait, time to pull it up 1st you naughty boy.

    Code geass, everyone loves it unless you are gay.

  6. 16 November 2009 at 5:34 am

    Does FMP really have sex & whatnot? Cuz if soooo……..I’M FEELING THAT!!!!;D

  7. 7 kaza
    16 November 2009 at 6:32 am

    Nope… I’m not gay (I don’t think there’s much to be said there…)

    Yea…I guess I am feeling a bit naughty after that…

    *Pulls it out*
    *puts it back in*
    *pulls it out again*
    *puts it back in again*

    Ummm… this lollipop is good… What? Did I do something weird???

  8. 20 November 2009 at 10:33 pm

    @FinallyAnime: Prepare your tissues…..to wipe those tears away. What were you thinking? It’s quite a sad story…
    @kaza: you suck your own lollipop?

  9. 9 kaza
    21 November 2009 at 7:55 am

    Well, If your thinking that I meant lollipop as in my ‘johnny’, then HELL NO!

    It was just a joke man, I am in no way homosexual. Yet, I don’t want to offend anyone who is…

    … Oh, my… what an extremely scary thought…

  10. 21 November 2009 at 1:09 pm

    oh touche.

    Yea I know. Offend anyone? This IS the internet and an anime blog. People can take us seriously. Or not. Perception issues…

    I finished FMA: Brotherhood all the way till 32 anyway, it sure picked up steam around mid 10s…damn, shouldn’t have dropped it.


Leave a comment


Irashaimasen

Welcome to Bokutachi no Blog. That's "Our Blog" in Japanese. Our Anime Blog, to be exact. And if you landed to this page by accident, probably in search for ecchi stuff, then you should regret to have hit this page. Don't worry, this blog is children-safe and no misdemeanor acts here. Sorry, you bald, middle-aged perverts. But thanks for the hit anyway.

RSS Danny Choo RSS

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Blog Extra