03
Nov
10

You might wanna watch: Yosuga no Sora

For those of you that didn’t know, this anime is an eroge that was released in 2008 for the PC.  For those of you that paid attention to our season preview, I mentioned that I played the game and successfully accomplish all routes in it, and then I went on how deep the story was when it actually is just a game where you try to get with all the different girls in the different routes.  Same can be said about Amagami SS, although this PS2 is not an eroge.  Unfortunately after watching the first four episodes of Yosuga no Sora, I realized that feel./AT-X were basically doing what Amagami SS is doing – different four episode arcs for different girls with Haru getting with each one in some event through each arc.  And sadly, I can’t bother watching more than one anime that has parallel love arcs.

That probably means I won’t bother watching continuing this series let alone blogging it – it’s simply just too much and that’s not even getting into the content of the anime.  This show actually has a lot of deeper meanings that people wouldn’t know about unless you played the game and my head actually is starting to hurt.  Plus, the artwork in the game is a lot better than the artwork in the show with greater detail and more attention to the shadows (after watching Bakuman, I feel like a pro-mangaka MWAHAHAHA), and when the voice cast is the same as it is in the game, I find no real reason to basically watch a story I already know in lower quality.  Then again it has a lot of serious issues, both romantic and not, that are actually pretty decent for anyone to deal with, so you might want to check it out before you judge me and my post.

Tragically orphaned by an automobile accident, the Kasugano twins travel to their grandparent’s countryside residence via railcar, hoping to reconstruct the shards of a shattered life. Future uncertain, Haruka Kasugano clings to memories of the past, hoping to find the strength he needs to safeguard his ailing sister. With a destiny irrevocably tied to that of another, Sora Kasugano clings to moments of the present, drawing comfort and security from the company of her brother. Two lonely souls so physically alike, yet spiritually divergent, unaware of the challenges these conflicting expectations will unveil in the days to come.  Wikipedia makes things easier to summarize, but the names are so awful – Haruka and Sora.  Both are female names and the one that is actually more masculine is given to the girl.  None of the voice cast is really notable for their role in anime series so it’s nothing special for the Mizuki Nana fanboys or the Rie Kugimiya lovers.

The first four episodes focused basically on Kazuha Migiwa’s love with Haruka and her feelings towards her father while knowing that Akira Amatsume is her blood-sister supposedly “abandoned” by her father.  These episodes were good, especially after Haruka kisses Kazuha in the second or third episode which made it seem a lot faster than what Junichi Tachibana was doing in another series.  In fact, by the fourth episode the series seemed to take the whole love thing too far as we saw a lot of grope/boob action which will obviously be uncensored even more in the DVD editions, but it’s still very much borderline hentai if not already softcore hentai.  Forgive me if little kids are reading this post and go to watch Yosuga no Sora after I said this.

The real thing about this series that turns me off is the incest.  Arguably, some people look forward to how this whole possible incest relationship can turn out but seriously, they’re twins.   They’re not even brother and sister, they’re twins which in a way, it’s like loving yourself.  And I’m not talking about the good I-love-life loving yourself.  Obviously, the incest relationship will be the highlight of the series and will probably be featured as the last arc, or possibly in the bonus OVA arc that’s going to be released only in the DVD (yes, they did reveal there would be an extra arc in the DVD edition).  Seems like this series has a lot going for it just in the DVD edition… well, that’s one way of making money, I guess.

And I know you all skipped my boring paragraphs just to read this one about my favorite character in the anime, which is obviously Motoka Nogisaka, the maid for the Migiwa household.  She’s a college student like me but it’s absolutely funny how she makes things meet their ends and how she acts around other people socially.  Her little clips at the end of every episode are hilarious and I found myself looking forward to those more than the actual series, which is a shame in its own way because the show isn’t that bad.  It’s just a bit too serious for my tastes and I’m already into Amagami SS.  So in the end, I won’t be blogging this series since I couldn’t be bothered blogging about it.  Maybe I’ll do an eroge review soon after I finish my Sengoku Rance review.  (*WARNING* This show is actually pretty good, but has a lot of adult content… I guess).  You can argue with my indecisiveness in the comments below.

I am.... NINJA.


7 Responses to “You might wanna watch: Yosuga no Sora”


  1. 1 Roxzaney
    3 November 2010 at 9:40 am

    I ♥ the picture at the end, so funny! ^^

  2. 4 November 2010 at 6:01 am

    What do you think of the other “incest-themed” shows like Oreimo & Aki Sora?

    I might give this series a chance, since I’ve been hearing so much about it on Sankaku Complex. Twins is like doing yourself. I never thought of it like that. I just call it twincest. But, I understand where you’re coming from. A twin is just like you, no matter the sex.

    I wrote something on incest in anime and manga and why creators use it as a theme. You can read it at: http://www.mangatherapy.com/post/1467868478/incest-in-anime-manga

    Isn’t there also yuri in Yosuga no Sora as well?

  3. 5 November 2010 at 5:10 pm

    definitely borderline, but not ftw

  4. 12 November 2010 at 2:29 am

    all i can say about this anime is it’s ecchi anime but very close to hentai
    since the boy makes sex with all those women. still a good watch if you’re into that kind of genre =D

  5. 7 FoxBlanket
    4 October 2011 at 4:48 am

    The incestuous relationship was actually the best part of it, given that it’s obvious from the very beginning of the show that Sora was in love with her brother even if she tried to deny it to herself. Very interesting character work with her, though sadly most of the other girls were empty cliches.


Leave a comment


Irashaimasen

Welcome to Bokutachi no Blog. That's "Our Blog" in Japanese. Our Anime Blog, to be exact. And if you landed to this page by accident, probably in search for ecchi stuff, then you should regret to have hit this page. Don't worry, this blog is children-safe and no misdemeanor acts here. Sorry, you bald, middle-aged perverts. But thanks for the hit anyway.

RSS Danny Choo RSS

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Blog Extra