08
Dec
09

Nyan Koi! episode 10

Quick note: There was a slight mix-up with Episode 10 (sorry everyone) but here’s my review – which also brings us all up to date in the series. I hope everyone is enjoying this anime as much as I am!

Despite all his cat-hating-grumpiness, I have to admit, Junpei is a really good guy. It’s no wonder so many girls like Kanako and Kaede are attracted to him. Oh yeah… and these two:

This episode is a delayed exposition of who Kotone and Akari are (other than the daughters of the local priest). It was mentioned upon their first meeting with Junpei that they had some magical abilities, but this is the first time we actually get to see them in action. Akari seems to be the only one with offensive capabilities while Kotone is more of a guide, tracking the enemy’s distance, movements, and energy levels. It’s unsure if they fight against all spirits, only cat spirits, or just this one particular spirit:

This guy.

After Kanako failed her finals, she and her classmates (plus one athletic senpai and two twin-tailed kohai) help her research the town’s history for a make-up paper. As their guide, Kotone takes them to seven locations not including the temple, completing the tour with the aforementioned Cat of Fortune – or misfortune. Over-sized and placid by day, the statue is rumored to curse anyone who vandalizes it – a rumor proved to be true after Kanako draws whiskers on it and it returns in spirit form to attack her that night. She’s saved, of course, by the Kirishima Twins in their transformed evil spirit fighting outfits… and Junpei who was worried after that afternoon’s events.

Aside from the fighting aspect of the Twins, we learn that Akari’s solitary behaviour stems from her strong Spiritual Power which has caused her to unconsciously stay away from others, making it difficult for her to develop friendships. Kotone also, has been an obsessed individual since she was young; good luck, Junpei… I guess this justifies their existence and continual presence throughout the series, but I still can’t see them as a very important part of the storyline. Maybe that’s why they threw Chizuru in the end there, to prove that there are more useless characters than the Kirishima Twins. Just leave her out if she has nothing to contribute to the story! And no, the Shinigami Illustrated MewView at the end doesn’t count as proper contribution. From here on out, I’m going to say NO to Chizuru.

I won’t write this episode off as irrelevant, but it was a little ridiculous. I’m also wondering if there’s going to be a second season since apparently someone else has knocked over Jizou-sama’s statue which means someone else is cursed with the same fate as Junpei. I have no speculations as to who it is or how it will affect Junpei and the others but I doubt it’ll be resolved in a mere two episodes. (On the same note, there are currently up to twenty-one chapters in the manga, or at least that I could verify.)

But back to my original point: Isn’t Junpei nice? I quite like him as a main character: he’s funny, irritable (as in he easily gets irritated), and hopelessly in love. I like that he’s committed to Kaede considering how many other beautiful and busty women surround him. He cherishes Kanako as a childhood friend (he did say he kept that cat doll that she’d given him, though she didn’t manage to find it in his room last episode) and tolerates Nagi’s often untimely appearances. Despite Akari’s hostility – and her twin sister’s creepy advances – he’s observant of her behaviour (noting that she doesn’t have friends) and makes the effort to help her connect with others. Even in his dealings with cats, he can be quite gracious – though it’s not without some display of annoyance. Yup: I could do with another season of Junpei and his crazy gaggle of women and furry feline allergens. Question is whether or not I’ll get it.

And in spite of previews for Episode 11 where it seems Kanako owns up to her feelings for Junpei – and perhaps even goes as far as confessing (that would just be for my own dramatic satisfaction though), I’m still cheering for Kaede and Junpei. There’s something about them that’s just cute. I’m a little tempted to hit the manga to see what happens, but I think I’ll hold out at least until the end of this season. If there’s no follow-up season then you’ll know where I’ll be getting my Nyan Koi fix.


9 Responses to “Nyan Koi! episode 10”


  1. 1 kaza
    8 December 2009 at 12:31 pm

    Wow. I’m speechless… truly, you spoke my mind. Beautiful, just beautiful.

    Oh, and I agree with you about the 2nd season thing. There’s just no way, and if they are going to solve it all in the last two eps, then they better do a hell of a great job. I mean, comon, shouldn’t they put the main attention on the love triangle they got going on?

    Hahaha, no matter how much Chi-zi is completely useless to the plot, she never fails to at least make me laugh… lol

    AWESOME POST once again

  2. 2 RP
    8 December 2009 at 2:18 pm

    I’d be shocked if they wrapped this up this season. For one, there’s the obvious love triangle still hanging out there. But more importantly, there’s gotta be at least 50-60 cats left that still need saving!

    Very nice post btw! The Akari vertical filmstrip is pretty money. I wish it showed one of her patented slaps though. 😛

  3. 3 EurydiceQ
    8 December 2009 at 4:16 pm

    (ignoring the awkwardly-out-of-context post above..ahem)
    I am also crossing my fingers for a second season of this show! I have to say that I was a little disappointed in this episode..like you said, it’s not exactly irrelevant, but it still feels like a waste when there are only two episodes left and lots of kitties that need saving and relationships that need sorting.

  4. 4 kaza
    8 December 2009 at 9:28 pm

    hehehe *coughfunnyyetstillrandomcough*

  5. 9 December 2009 at 11:45 am

    It is rather nice how committed Junpei is to Kaede, since most male leads in such a situation show at least some signs of wavering at some point. Even if Kaede isn’t my favorite, it must be acknowledged that his devotion is commendable.

    Despite the episode basically dedicated to them, I still think the twins are about as relevant to anything as Chizuru, they just get more screen time. Not that I dislike any of them, they all provide some great comedic moments. If they’re going to be made relevant to things there’s going to need to be another season.

  6. 6 kaza
    9 December 2009 at 12:32 pm

    I completely agree with that. It makes sense, but tell me… does anyone want a second season? I know I do, yet I just want them to end this love triangle soon in this season.

  7. 7 RP
    9 December 2009 at 12:50 pm

    I for one would love to see a 2nd season. It seems like the manga is still ongoing so I imagine they’ll have plenty of material to draw from.

  8. 8 blindability
    10 December 2009 at 11:59 am

    I wouldn’t mind another season but only if things move along. I’ve watched all of Ah! My Goddess (and I mean ALL of it) and I don’t think I could tolerate another anime (or manga) where the main couple’s relationship never ever progresses.


Comments are currently closed.

Irashaimasen

Welcome to Bokutachi no Blog. That's "Our Blog" in Japanese. Our Anime Blog, to be exact. And if you landed to this page by accident, probably in search for ecchi stuff, then you should regret to have hit this page. Don't worry, this blog is children-safe and no misdemeanor acts here. Sorry, you bald, middle-aged perverts. But thanks for the hit anyway.

RSS Danny Choo RSS

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Blog Extra