13
Sep
09

Hetalia Axis Powers episode 33

I often won’t notice in weekly airing anime when the subs start to fall behind. I don’t really keep a mental track of the days the subs usually come out. The exceptions would be when the subs start to fall really far behind, like a few weeks behind. Or if I’m blogging the anime, I seem to remember around what day the subs should come out.

vlcsnap-2009-09-12-10h57m29s13

So yes, I also noticed that the subs were pretty darn late for this episode. Come one gg, you used to be so punctual!

vlcsnap-2009-09-12-10h55m19s233

I’ve certainly heard stories about restaurants like these, and funnily enough, it was a German resteraunt. The waiter tells you what you are going to eat, no alternatives whatsoever. I love the way Germany hovers over the person eating in his military outfit. Now that I’ve certainly have, especially at coffee shops or bars. Especially bars, you just finished your drink and put down your glass and before it even hits the table a waiter whisks it away. Come on you bar-boys, I wanted to crunch those ice-cubes! What right do you have to take away my precious ice-cubes, I demand a refund!

Oh look, a contracter just died

Oh look, a contractor just died

I’m sure there was some sort of historical relevance to England’s earthquake but I’m afraid I don’t know that one. Hetalia loves to refer to the war in Africa don’t they? I suppose it’s the greatest example in history of the general sucky nature of Italian  armies (we retreated a lot today didn’t we Germany? That made me lol). Actually you could take pretty much any part of history after the Roman Empire and Italy are pretty miserable in military matters. What makes the African war signficant to Hetalia is the fact that Germany had to go save Italy in absolutely every battle. No really, I’ve said this several times before, but Italy really did suck in the war in North Africa. Even a falling star cannot cure the many failings of the Italian army.

vlcsnap-2009-09-12-10h58m04s82

 However this was by far my favourite part of the episode because I already knew about this! I know Deen explained it this time but I’m going to tell you my version. In an international conference, the Venezuelan President launched an attack on the Spanish PM, going a little bit overboard (depends what point of view you read, but Spanish newspapers reported that the Venezuelan chap, Mr.Chavez, was an insulting little git who called Spain fascist). Eventually the Spanish PM lost all patience and told Chavez “¿porqué no te callas?”, which means “why don’t you shut the f*ck up”. This, as you can imagine, became instant meme material. Can you imagine the outbreak of youtube videos with the ‘THIS IS SPARTA’ guy yelling ‘porqué no te callas’ instead. Or the infamous Zidane headbutt except with the two world leaders photoshopped on instead. How do I know all this? Because my friend was on an exchange-trip in Spain when it happened and he has one of those t-shirts. God am I jealous, that thing is practically a historical artifact.

vlcsnap-2009-09-12-10h55m47s18

I still kinda think of every episode past 27 as the ‘second season’ of Hetalia, and it has to be said that this season has been much better than the last, which is unusual for an anime comedy. The reason for this is pretty simple really: No Chibitalia. Think about it, a chibitalia segment (or any other of those cute/serious segments that appeared in the first half of the season) would take up half an episode, giving Hetalia far less time to actually be funny. Without those segment you’ve effectively doubled the amount of time Hetalia has to include more lulz. This episode was yet another excellent example of good Hetalia. And long may it continue, I’m loving this show. But there’s still one fatal flaw in this series that will constantly hold it back. There’s still no Ireland! There’s been everything from Bulgaria to Greece to Egypt, heck there’s even been Liechtenstein. Even Sealand has appeared. Fucking Sealand! The smallest country in the world has made an appearance and still no Ireland!

Just a quick announcement. I’m going to college next Tuesday. This wouldn’t be much of a problem except i’m going to college in an entirely different country so I don’t even know if I’ll have internet access. That means I may be late with the next episode so to keep you occupied until then, here’s a bunch of amazing Hetalia parody vids for you to drool over, featuring Hetalia X Haruhi, R.O.D, Naruto and best of all, an amazing Baccano version.


25 Responses to “Hetalia Axis Powers episode 33”


  1. 1 luffyluffy
    13 September 2009 at 2:01 am

    YES, FINALLY 8D

    Man, that “Contrator Just Died” line really hit home, I just finished Darker Than Black last night XD

    The timing for the subs… >____<

  2. 2 Humanity_Cat
    13 September 2009 at 9:05 am

    I was afraid it had stopped coming out… > >

    I know that the shooting star thing was based on a strip, but was the cafe one as well? I can’t remember….and there are still some stripes I am yet to read as well…

    England looks kind of defeated/puppydog/cute with bedhead and a headache…*titter*

    Good luck in college!

  3. 3 luffyluffy
    13 September 2009 at 11:06 am

    I cant be the only one who though that the blond haired man in the last skit was Denmark, can I?

  4. 4 heyheyho
    14 September 2009 at 1:17 am

    Yeah those those goddamned waiters taking away our ice-cubes…

    Too bad the star-in-the-head scene was less funny than in the manga, because there was blood splashing and everything.
    And blood is ALWAYS hilarious.

    Well, it’s more like “would you SHUT UP?”.(Native speaker here)

    LOL those MADs, japanese fans have waaaay to much time on their hands it seems…

    Oh, but here in latin america everyone hates Chávez too! There was much lulz here when it happened.
    Except for Bolivia, I guess. Hes’s got a man-crush with Venezuela and all-*SHOT*

  5. 14 September 2009 at 3:10 am

    @luffyluffy

    You finished DtB just in time for the new season, well done. Thanks to DtB, every single time I see a falling star I instantly think ‘a contracters just died’, which is a bit depressing when you think about it.

    @Humanity_Cat

    Hetalia is set to run for 52 eps and if gg ever drop it, I’m sure they’re some fangirls more than ready to sub the thing. But gg are probably the best subbing group, bar maybe Dattebayo, so it would be a real shame if they dropped it.

    @heyheyho

    Sticking in the ‘fuck’ was my oh-so-original way of implying that he wasn’t very polite about it since he didn’t use usted. My spanish is a bit limited I’m afraid. BTW, which country are you from? It’s always cool to hear which country Hetalia viewers are from to find out where their alliegence lies.

    BTW, anyone having trouble seeing the pics or is my pc just messing with me?

  6. 6 luffyluffy
    14 September 2009 at 3:13 am

    I watched DtB in like, under a month, for my boyfriend so we could watch the second season next month together, are you going blog it?

    As for me, I’m from America, but my heart is dead center in the middle of europe. Seriously, it’s torn between Sweden, Germany, Prussia, England, Denmark, Sealand, Canada, and France

    Well, Canada… he’s just there for some reason ._.

    And I guess Alfred is cool too…

  7. 7 Humanity_Cat
    14 September 2009 at 7:25 am

    ‘I cant be the only one who though that the blond haired man in the last skit was Denmark, can I?’

    I’d have to go back and look…it’d be interesting to see him, in the middle of no where, lol.

    I hope they don’t drop it…not that I don’t trust subbing fangirls, but…^^;

    I live in America like Luffy, but I’m Chinese, and it’s interesting to see Yao, haha.

  8. 14 September 2009 at 5:02 pm

    @luffyluffy

    I think Brian, the guy who owns this blog, is going to make an emphatic return to blog DtB. He blogged the first season (I wasn’t even around back then). I think I may blog Letter Bee next season, along with Hetalia obviously, but I’ll wait until the first episode airs before I make my final descision

    @Humanity_Cat

    I didn’t even know Denmark had a Hetalia character

  9. 9 Monsturr
    15 September 2009 at 8:16 am

    Huh, sorry for the off-topic…ness… but uh. Scamp, I think I found a Hetalia MAD you might enjoy. Assuming you haven’t already seen it. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r0Pf8epA8dY

    Also, Humanity_Cat? I thought it was Denmark as well at first. OTL I changed my mind after seeing the look on his face, but yeah, I definitely fell into that trap.

  10. 10 Monsturr
    15 September 2009 at 8:19 am

    Ffff, I’m retarded. Sorry, that last comment was directed at luffyluffy, not Humanity_Cat. Sorry for the mix-up. 8D;; …Although I suppose it still applies.

  11. 11 luffyluffy
    15 September 2009 at 8:20 am

    dhaOFHEHA I WANTED IT TO BE DENMARK DX

    I was so rageful when I realised it wasnt ;-;

    By the way, in reguards with the new episode: CANADA IS THE MOST MOE THING I BELIEVE I WILL EVER SEE. MORE MOE THAN K-ON.

  12. 12 Humanity_Cat
    15 September 2009 at 8:28 am

    I still haven’t gone back to look yet…

    And yup, while there is no character for Ireland, there is one for Denmark! XD

  13. 13 luffyluffy
    15 September 2009 at 8:29 am

    There’s a character for every Nordic, Sweden, Finland, Iceland, Denmark, and Norway

    Muhaha, I feel accomplished =3=

  14. 16 September 2009 at 1:25 am

    @Monsturr

    That was…too awesome for words. I bow down to your superior MAD searching skills. There’s a Hetalia MAD for pretty much any series if you look long enough.

  15. 15 luffyluffy
    16 September 2009 at 3:32 am

    There’s even one for Cowboy Bebop 😀

    Which is 45 seconds long.

    And has America as Spike.

    NO. NEVER HAPPENING. I WILL RAAAGE.

  16. 16 heyheyho
    16 September 2009 at 6:02 am

    I’m from Peru :p
    The pics look just fine to me.

  17. 17 KSFWolfe
    18 September 2009 at 2:51 am

    Yeah, I was annoyed by how late the subs were! *grrr* But at least it was a good episode. Especially Germany’s restaraunt. Timing the guy while he was choking! lol!

  18. 18 September 2009 at 6:00 am

    That guy who was in such a bad mood couldn’t have been Denmark. He is more the hyperactive type, and I don’t think he would go to a bar like this.

    My friend told me though that this blonde guy reminded her of the taller guy from the sketch of Czechslovakia —> http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yo_btds9-kM
    Or better to say, looks more like Slovakia, I didnt really think of that, but he looks similar to that guy from the pic…

  19. 18 September 2009 at 6:02 am

    ups sorry the totally wrong picture (random video from youtube about the Koreans getting mad about Hetalia orz)

    Here is it —-> http://i543.photobucket.com/albums/gg461/gomidog/Czech.gif

  20. 20 luffyluffy
    18 September 2009 at 6:04 am

    Sorry to spoil your parade XD

  21. 18 September 2009 at 7:06 pm

    Um…interesting. But that still doesn’t say anything, who that person is XD

    Or did I miss something? O_o

  22. 22 Soka
    8 December 2009 at 6:19 pm

    As a spanish, I can assure you all that we had the greatest time about that thing with Chavez, LOL
    But it wasn’t our PM, it was our KING, which is even more funny, when you think about itXD
    And it wasn’t anything as hardcore as “shut the fuck up”, it was more like “Why don’t you just shut up?” but it got blown out of proportionXDXDXD

    Also, yeah Ireland, but where the hell is South America?????!!! And Portugal??? (man, it’s a crime that Portugal is not in the strips featuring old times, inaccurancy at its highest. If England ever had an affair with a nation, it wasn’t USA, it was Portugal; 500 years of partnership for the friendless and isolationist UK xDDDDD)

  23. 9 December 2009 at 12:52 am

    @Soka

    You commented on a whole bunch of posts (thanks for that!) so I’ll just do one generic big reply here.

    I get the feeling that Mr.Hetalia (I keep forgetting his name) doesn’t know that much about Spain/Portugal/general latin areas and their history. Considering how much crazy Spanish history there is and how easy it would be to Hetaliase, Spain has barely appeared at all at Portugal doesn’t even have a character.

    Glad to see you like reading all my old posts. I’d like to think that my writing has improved since the earlier episodes so I’d love to see you around in the most recent reviews.

  24. 18 September 2010 at 4:29 am

    As one of Portugal’s many children, I find it a bit odd that they don’t mention too much about latin countries such as Spain, Portugal, Mexico and so on… And how on earth was Ireland forgotten? And also Africa? I mean, Mr Hetalia put Sealand in and forgot quite a lot of other characters (EVEN EGYPT!)… I just hope they get a mention at least… But it would be really really nice if more characters were introduced, maybe even a new season for different parts of the world…
    I.e. Western Hetalia, Asian Hetalia, European Hetalia, Latin Hetalia and so on…

    Anyway that’s just my opinion, feel free to point things out if you like. c:


Leave a comment


Irashaimasen

Welcome to Bokutachi no Blog. That's "Our Blog" in Japanese. Our Anime Blog, to be exact. And if you landed to this page by accident, probably in search for ecchi stuff, then you should regret to have hit this page. Don't worry, this blog is children-safe and no misdemeanor acts here. Sorry, you bald, middle-aged perverts. But thanks for the hit anyway.

RSS Danny Choo RSS

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Blog Extra