26
Feb
10

Spring Anime 2010 Preview

My friends, this is the product of giving SPIRAL the duty to make this long post.  It’s not as good as Scamp’s, I know, but it took me a hell long of a time to make this too, but I’ll keep on fixing it.  You know the drill: the other writers and I have compiled a list of the anime of the Spring 2010 season and given you the summaries, the trailers (when they come out), and our thoughts on them.  Once again, the information comes from many different sources such as ANN, Chartfags, Metanorm, and my good friend, Google Images and Youtube.

Senkou no Night Raid


http://www.1931.tv/

Synopsis:

The second of TV Tokyo’s “Power of Anime” project.  In 1931, the imperial Japanese army is dispatched to mainland China due to recent Japanese wars.  In Shanghai, a cosmopolitan city of intrigue, there exists a special military spy organization “Sakurai Kikan”, that has since been buried in history. (Produced by A-1 Pictures)

Thoughts:

SPIRAL: Well I liked Canaan, and this anime seems to be of the same essence.  I’ve always liked spies and wars, plus we should expect to see a lot of gun action and blood, which is always an eye-opener towards many things.  Obviously since it’s one of the bigger projects this season, A-1 must be putting a lot of work into it.  Let’s wait for the final product, and hopefully we’re not disappointed.

Poro: Spies. Conspiracies. World Wars.  KGB era warfare.  I’m your man.  I’m surprised that A-1 is making such a jump from Sora no Woto to Senkou no Night Raid.  It’s like Tower no Druaga Shield of Aegis to Darker than Black.   Well, I think this show has promise.  Assuming that this show stays in the context of its time period,  it may just awaken my WWII fanboy.

Loba: <I AM SICK OF THIS, GOOGLE CHROME CRASHED ON ME TWICE. TWICE. FREAKING UNSTABLE BETA> Yea looks good, might be intriguing and full of suspense but whatever, it’s not going to change much of the history is it?

blindability: Well I wasn’t the biggest fan of Canaan – and I certainly hope this show doesn’t follow in the same line. But it does look promising so I’ll give it a shot. I like the premise of the storyline and the graphics seem aesthetic enough (although good graphics alone aren’t good enough to make a series successful). Since this seems like a weighted anime, let’s hope for the best!

Iron Man (anime)

Genre: Action, super-hero, adventure, remake

Synopsis:

The first part of four projects that will include a combined effort between Madhouse and Marvel to create a remake of the famous super-heroes.  The spring project will be Iron Man whereas the summer project will be Wolverine.  (Produced by Marvel and Madhouse)

Thoughts:

SPIRAL: *surprise surprise* It looks good, and I’ve always like Iron Man.  But it looks so much darker than the comics and the movie, but that’s to be expected from Madhouse.  I have a feeling that it’ll be thrilling, fun, and good… but it will be rather obvious for those of us who have already read the comics and know the general villains and plot… unless Madhouse is planning to change that, then it’ll be cool.   Ooh, maybe the villains will get an anime-style make-over!  *fingers crossed*

Poro: I, on the other hand, have a long hatred of animetized comic characters.  Anime characters are for sleek lanky kind of characters.  Katanagatari’s male  protagonist is a good example.  You can see that they did that for both the people in the preview picture above.  Being a hard core marvel comic character, the Marvel comic characters like Superman and Wolverine all had those beefy muscles and super strength for a reason, to feed the American idealism of tough Army men in GI Joe suits.  That is the true essence.  I’m not trying to play Fitzgerald with American comics, but this really is the true reason that Wolverine was designed in such away.  I want to stay the way it did in the 1980’s.  (I’m not that old but my uncle certainly was.)  Although Spiderman is okay, the whole design of Spiderman was lanky nerd turned superhero after all.  Comic and Manga are two different things that can’t be mixed without losing some of the beauty and ideals of either culture.  They should stay apart.

Loba: Aw yea sure, manly becomes less manly. Shifts in perceptions mans or it could be a brutal disregard for its fundamental core design on the pretext of innovation. Let’s mix chili padi and wasabi and see what we get! It might end up good! (And I mean it might even though it seems strange). Besides, what can go wrong for most guys with explosions, beam weapons and robots?

blindability: This is bizarre… But looks amazing! I’m well aware of the origins of Iron Man but unlike Poro, I’m quite looking forward to seeing him “animetized”. I also understand the underlying connotations concerning American idealism in regards to drafting strong young men, but I think that mainstream media is moving away from that as the world becomes “sleeker” in general – even our superheroes (buff, yes; bulky, not so much anymore). But back to the anime itself, I’m looking forward to seeing what they can make happen in the episodic form rather than a one-shot movie. It’s a good time to be Stan Lee.

Yojo-han Shinwa Taikei

http://noitamina.tv/yojouhan/

Synopsis:

The series follows a nameless third-year college student and his life with the members of his club. (Produced by Madhouse)

Thoughts:

SPIRAL: Well, all I’m going to say is that I’m only watching one of the Madhouse productions.  Guess which one?

Poro: Nameless huh?  Well, “I’m only watching one of the Madhouse productions.  Guess which one?”

Loba: Uh carebear? Ok, it seems pretty jarring and weird, like some university grads popping some pills and getting high before starting production on it. Maybe that’s the main idea, seeing things from their perspective while they are having delusions. Go for it if you want to try something different.

blindability: The animation and narration reminds me or Kuuchuu Buranko – which I gave an honest try and didn’t get very far. So I don’t see why I wouldn’t give this a try either. The synopsis doesn’t tell us much and unfortunately I don’t understand the trailer so I guess I’ll just have to wait and watch it to learn more about the plot. And has anyone read Phd Comics before? That main character is nameless too!

Arakawa Under the Bridge

Synopsis:

Ko “Riku” Ichinomiya, a young upper-class man, meets a beautiful homeless girl named Nino on the banks of Arakawa River, where many of Tokyo’s most unusual residents live.  (Produced by SHAFT)

Thoughts:

SPIRAL: Well, the story doesn’t look that incredibly interesting… plus the star-man thing in the posters got me really confused.  Hmm, but the character designs look nice enough and the plot seems somewhat… somewhat… actually, I don’t expect myself to enjoy this.

Poro: Sure why not, If I can enjoy Durarara then I can enjoy this.  Nothing more complex as Durarara where everyone is a nutter.

Loba: Boring. Boring in the sense of I’m not going to pick up the manga just because you don’t give me more details in the PV or synopsis. Nice try at getting me to pick up the manga but at least give me something fools!

blindability: YES! I’ve been following the manga for this and how could I not watch? I’m not one of those people who compare manga to anime and vice versa; since I can enjoy both Fullmetal Alchemist in manga and anime form (that includes the first season of the anime) then I’m sure Arakawa Under the Bridge anime and I will get along just fine. He’s GREEN!

RAINBOW Nisha Rokubou no Shichinin

Synopsis:

Set in 1955, the story follows seven teenagers who must learn to live together in the same hold at a reformatory in Shio.  confined in a hell of daily suffering and humiliation, they wait for a ray of hope in the dark, incarcerating world.  It focuses on how they have lived their lives, after being released.

Thoughts:

SPIRAL: Well it’s 1955 right?  That means the accessories that we have today don’t exist.  Say goodbye to iPods, good computers, and good technology.  That being said, I’m expecting a lot of gang fights hand-to-hand.  Although I’m not really interesting in “primitive” fighting methods, it could still be worth some time to watch this series.

Poro: Interesting… mano-to-mano combat.  After such trauma, kind of like a post war memoir.  Sounds good.  Promise it shows.

Loba: Hey, Duke Togo from Golgo 13 in his younger days! I kid, but it sure reminds me of him. Looks like a rollercoaster of tragedies and more tragedies in a reform school. I vote that only 1 of them lived to the end: Duke Togo. But I’m not going to watch it, looks depressing.

blindability: Ahww; this sounds kind of tragic… Though I suppose you’re supposed focus on their survival. I’ll try it but I’m not a big fan of senseless fighting; a good fight has to have a purpose behind it – unless you’re Heiwajima Shizuo. Then I don’t care why you fight (not to say he doesn’t fight with purpose).

House of Five Leaves

Synopsis:

During the height of the shogun’s Edo era rule, a naive and masterless samurai Akitsu Masanosuke is desperate for work.  He becomes the bodyguard of the House of Five Leave’s charismatic leader Yaichi, to discover there is more to the gang leader than just his criminal activities. (Produced by Manglobe)

Thoughts:

SPIRAL: I never knew that there was more to being a gang leader than criminal activities.  Okay, well the story doesn’t seem that bad although the artwork is a bit questionable in my taste.

Poro: Well, Al Capone wasn’t entirely bad.  What about a Japanese Al Capone?  That would be interesting.  Have a look out for it.

Loba: The design reminds me a little of Blame! and peacemaker but there’s no link btw. I have a pretty good idea where this is going to go. In past and modern Japan, the society has pretty much been tolerant towards yakuza’s and their less violent activities because they view them as the left arm of ‘justice’. Police can’t do anything? The gangs move in to clean up the mess. Socially responsible criminals so to speak. It speaks volume when Yaichi is described as charismatic, probably loved by the immediate neighbourhood and has under the table deals with the authorities for the ‘better’ of society, maintaining the social fabric. Yea, putting to good use from the module ‘Samurais, geishas and yakuzas’ that I took 1 semester ago in university. I smell mob money and sympathetic producers towards gangs behind this show. I like the music in the PV though.

blindability: What does Akitsu Masanoskue the ronin discover about Yaichi the gang leader? That he knits scarves for the elderly? That he likes to paint with potatoes? What? What?

Heroman

Synopsis:

The story centers on a boy named Joey who discovers a toy robot near the west coast of the United States. The toy becomes Heroman, a giant robot that Joey pilots against evil threats. (Produced by BONES)

Thoughts:

SPIRAL: For some reason when I see this, my mind shouts “copycat, copycat!” at the plot idea.  Naw, I’m not really interesting in giant robots-little kids’ stories.

Poro: Such a rip-off… I remember like three TV shows from my child hood with the same plot.  Stereotypical no?  This is obviously for the 5 year-olds in Japan.

Loba: I watched Iron Giant! It was pretty touching =( But I was a kid then. Did you guys know Stan Lee worked on heroman with BONES?

blindability: Has anyone seen Iron Giant? I know this isn’t the same thing but that’s why I’m wondering if I should watch it. Iron Giant exceeded my expectations and was a really well put together movie. I have no idea what Heroman is going to be like.

Ookiku Furikabatte (Season 2)

Synopsis:

Second season of this baseball anime… no, it’s not just MAJOR with some more kids. (Produced by A1 Pictures)

Thoughts:

SPIRAL: Oddly enough, this anime dodged my radar.  I’ve heard that this series was somewhat decent but since I’ve watched MAJOR, it might just be boring to me.  Oh well, when I have time *starts the car to drive away*

Poro: Who? What?  Huh?  Never heard of it.  But, the melon bread reminded me of Shakugan no Shana! :3

Loba: I never watched sports anime. People loved slam dunk but I thought it sucked. The manga was good though. I like the song from the first season by Base ball bear though but I digress, not watching.

blindability: I have been meaning to watch the first season of this but since I haven’t yet, I’m not sure how I feel about diving right into the second season. I may watch a few episodes and see if I can follow along without having seen it from the beginning.

Angel Beats


http://www.angelbeats.jp/

Synopsis:

In a world after death, angels fight for their fate and their future. Yuri, the leader of the Shinda Sekai Sensen, rebels against the god who destined her to have an unreasonable life. On the otherhand, Tenshi, the chairperson of the student council for the world after death, battles against the SSS members. SSS members utilize armed weaponry to battle it out against the angels harnessing supernatural powers. (Produced by PA Works)

Thoughts:

SPIRAL: Another one of the bigger projects… well, it looks good enough for the artwork and the story actually looks good too.  The trailer really got me interested and I think it’s going to be worth watching this series for the long run.  Cute girls… angels… death… and the music in the trailer?  Why not?

Poro: If I were to say which anime would be the best on this season, it’d be this.  Enough said.

Loba: Uh huh, good music but these kind of anime never did interest me.

blindability: Why does the world after death look so much like the world before death? I have to admit this looks interesting enough to watch – at least until it proves itself bad. If at all. The animation and character designs looks agreeable (Don’t you think she looks like Haruhi with that headband, Poro!?) and while I don’t really find the synopsis very comprehensive, the trailer was good enough to give me an idea of what I can expect.

Ichiban Ushiro no Dai Maou


Genre: Shounen, Fantasy
http://www.mmv.co.jp/special/daimao/

Synopsis:

The story of “love, magic, and battles” revolves around Akuto Sai, a boy who aims to become part of his country’s highest order of magicians and contribute to society as one of its clergy. On the day he is admitted into the Constan Magical Academy, his aptitude test predicts the following: “Future Occupation … Devil King.” Thus begins his severe school life in which he is resented by his studious female class head, desired by a girl with mysterious powers, and guarded by a beautiful female android. (Produced by Artland)

Thoughts:

SPIRAL: Isn’t this just Negima + Tenjou Tenge?  Hmm, well I sure ain’t going to watch more magic than I already do… Fairy Tail is tiring enough.  *sigh*

Poro: Another plot recycled?  Well, I only have space for 4 anime or so.  All taken, sorry.

Loba: Partial nudity, girls and more girls. Bleh. 3D over 2D any day for me. Real man face rejection, 2D girls never rejects you.

blindability: Yeah, it does sound like it’s been done before, and yes it’s probably very predictable, but I’ll probably still watch it, haha. What can I say: I’ll give almost anything a shot.

Working!


Genre: Comedy
http://www.wagnaria.com/

Synopsis:

Sota Takanashi takes a part-time job at a restaurant that employs a midget daughter, a lazy store manager, a hyperactive androphobe, a dreamy katana wielding girl, and a blonde haired chef.  The slapstick comedy that brings a group of nutters together for work. (Produced by A-1 Pictures)

Thoughts:

SPIRAL: Comedy + girls = win (in my book).  Well, like many other anime series, perhaps this can show us insight into a deeper understanding how restaurants work, and maybe we can learn something.  Will start to watch… somewhat.

Poro: Read the manga. Very funny. Will watch.

Loba: I worked in a restaurant before. Let’s see how much of it is true. Comedies are usually worth a shot.

blindability: Any show with an exclamation mark (!) at the end has to be good, right? But this does look like it’ll be a lot of fun to follow. I really hope it’s funny and not just stupid though. There is a huge difference between funny and just plain stupid.

Giant Killing


Genre: Sports
http://www9.nhk.or.jp/anime/giantkilling/

Synopsis:

A coach has got one more game to raise his football team into a respectable status, but it’s against the best club in the country!  Soccer anime.  (Produced by DEEN)

Thoughts:

SPIRAL: That’s “football” –> soccer to many of you.  But hells yea!  I’ve always wanted a soccer show that wasn’t gay.  I know many of you don’t appreciate soccer but it’s my sport so it’s always fun to watch.  Hopefully, the plot won’t be too predictable like Major and hopefully they’ll have realistic moves and tricks.  *fingers crossed again*

Poro: If this turns out to be like Remember the Titans, I won’t know what to say.

Loba: Sports again? And why giant killing? Sagara Sousuke training style from FMP for the soccer team? ahahaha. Ok next.

blindability: You know what, I really enjoyed Eyeshield 21, so I am willing to give this a try. Maybe I’ll learn a thing or two about football (aka soccer) too!

Hetalia Axis Powers (Season 3)

Synopsis:

Third season of the popular franchise. Based on a popular web-released manga series by Hidekazu Himaruya, this has been described as a “cynical gag” story in the years between WW1 and WW2 (1915-1939), using exaggerated caricatures of the different nationalities as portrayed by a gaggle of bishounen. (Produced by DEEN)

Thoughts:

SPIRAL: First season was weird, second season was “what the”, and so I say goodbye to the third season.  *waves*

Poro: Scamp was the truly passionate one.  Me?  Chibitalia = Biggest turn off ever.

Loba: I KIV-ed the first season after watching it halfway. It was interesting but not enough to keep my interest apparently.

blindability: In all fairness, Scamp hates Chibitalia – and that’s worth mentioning since he really hates Chibitalia. I’ll definitely be watching this. It’s too much fun to miss out on – even if it is just five minutes an episode.

B Gata H Kei

Synopsis:

Yamada is a virgin high school student who dreams of having 100 casual sex partners. However, she ends up targeting and pursuing only one boy. (Produced by HAL Film Maker)

Thoughts:

SPIRAL: You don’t say… well, I got one word for that girl: slut (sorry if I offend anyone).  Actually, another word comes to mind too: fail.  That being said… let’s give it a… cautious… try… do I smell something ecchi?

Poro: I guess that the lines “Am I doing it right?” will be said about 28 times in this series.  But why?  Yamada! WHY?  your #)&#@ would be all )#*%)(# from doing it so #$(@#@ many times.

Loba: WHAT THE **** This is why Japan anime is considered screwed up by the ignorant masses. Because of stuff like this. How is this going to pass the censor board for content??

blindability: Out of those 100 casual sex partners, I wonder how many sexually transmitted infections she’ll pick up? Or how many pregnancies she might have to deal with? Not to mention all the emotional baggage she’ll accumulate. Stupid shows like this give stupid people stupid ideas. Stupid people have enough stupid ideas of their own; they don’t need more encouragement.

Kaichou wa Maid-sama!

Synopsis:

A romantic comedy that centers on the student council head named Misaki Ayuzawa who despises the mostly male, slovenly population at her school, which was once an all-boys school. However, Misaki’s most handsome schoolmate just discovered her secret — that she works after school at a maid café. (Produced by JC Staff)

Thoughts:

SPIRAL: I wished my student council president did that.  Well, I’m not expecting much from this series.  For some reason, it reminds me of Vampire Knight probably because of the art style.  Hmm, and I didn’t enjoy that a lot because of Twilight… hmm… *walks away*

Poro: I would watch Vampire Knight five times over than read Twilight.  The anime shows promise.  For the shoujo manga people.  I won’t be watching it.  But, those of you who have time to kill should give it a chance.

Loba: Looks all shoujo or whatever term they used. Shall not comment on what I do not know much of.

blindability: Why is working at a maid cafe such a big deal? I might watch the beginnings of this show just to see what calibre of romance and comedy it is. There are other romantic comedies I have on my anime wait list that I might rather be watching…

Hakuouki: Shinsengumi Kitan


Synopsis:

The protagonist, Yukimura Chizuru is the daughter of a doctor who works in Edo. The father leaves Edo to work as a volunteer doctor and moves to Kyoto without his daughter. As time passes by, Chizuru starts worrying about losing contact with her father, so she decides to go to Kyoto in search of him. On the way, Chizuru is attacked by few criminals and witnesses a fight between an oni and the Shinsengumi. Taking her into custody and saving her, the Shinsengumi debate on what to do with Chizuru when they discover that she is the daughter of the doctor they are also looking for.  So they decide to become Chizuru’s protectors and help her look for her father (the doctor). Many events take place while she stays with the Shingensumi, as they discover mysterious secrets and also fight against the Bakumatsu group. The story is overall romantic with a historical and political background. (Produced by DEEN)

Thoughts:

SPIRAL: That’s a mouthful of a summary all for me to say: “NO”

Poro: Too much anime, so little time.  I might give it a shot.  Maybe?

Loba: Two other shows come to mind: Samurai X and Peacemaker where the shinsengumi appears as well. Not forgetting Gintama but who takes that seriously lol. Worth a shot if you are interested in the samurais.

blindability: I’ve seen the art book for this – which I believe started out as a video game – and I’m pretty excited to see how it all comes together with what sounds like a typically dramatic storyline. I like how it’s based on characters that pre-existed and that it’s a period setting. If the names look strangely familiar, many characters in Gintama are loosely based on (or inspired by) these guys – the real ones who once lived.

Uragiri wa Boku no Name wo Shitte Iru

Uragiri wa Boku no Namae wo Shitteiru

Synopsis:

Sakurai Yuki is a mysterious boy with a mysterious ability. He was found in the bushes as a baby and adopted by his current family. Because of this, Yuki strives for independence. The last thing he wants is to be a burden to anybody. Furthermore, when he touches others, he can feel their emotions. Unable to control his ability, he often made insensitive blunders in the past. With death threats and his abilities increasing, what will happen when a man claiming to be his older brother appears? (Produced by JC Staff)

Thoughts:

SPIRAL: If I had a super power, it certainly would not be that lame.  This anime is going to move really slowly, so I’m getting out of this car and just walking.

Poro: If I had that super power, I would be able to get all the girls I wanted.  :3 That said, nope.  I smell BL.  Although I don’t discriminate sexual orientations, I can decide which anime to watch in accordance to MY sexual orientation.

Loba: This sounds like the perfect ability for guys to finally understand girls once and for all!! But it sure is lame.

blindability: I wouldn’t classify that as a super power, boys. However, I have to admit that my curiosity is piqued – much like how it was with Ookami Kakushi. I’ve never read the manga and I honestly haven’t heard too much about the storyline, so I’m willing to give this a try as well.

D.C. ~Da Capo~ Ekusute


http://www.hatsunejima.com/

Synopsis:

Third season of the Da-Capo series. Junichi Asakura lives with his adoptive sister Nemu in the crescent-shaped island of Hatsune Jima, a place where cherry blossoms bloom throughout the year. In this island, people have mysterious powers and attributes. For example, Junichi has the power to see other people’s dreams, and he was also taught by his grandmother to magically create sweets. One day, Junichi’s cousin and childhood friend, Sakura Yoshino came back from America all of a sudden. To Junichi’s surprise, she looks exactly the same as the girl that moved away six years ago, and hasn’t aged one bit. And she came back to remind Junichi of their childhood promise… It is a bittersweet tale of magic, love, hidden desires, and unattainable dreams. (Produced by FEEL)

Thoughts:

SPIRAL: I’ve never really watched the first two season of it, although I have played the game.  Personally, I can’t say much of it except that if it’s got three seasons, it must be worth something, right?  (Unlike Hidemari Sketch).  However, I will likely watch the first one or two episodes – if it’s not late for me to jump in and I wonder “Who the hell is Junichi”, then I’ll just stop watching it.  But the good news is that it’s a retelling of the series as well, so maybe… just maybe…

Poro: Nope, I had enough Da Capo for a while.  May get back to it this summer.

Loba: Never watched the first two seasons so I didn’t even other reading the synopsis.

blindability: Never watched the other two seasons so I’m certainly not going to start with the third. Da Capo isn’t an unfamiliar name to me, but it’s never intrigued me enough to get me watching.

K-ON (Season 2)

Synopsis:

Second season of moeblob music slice-of-life anime. (Produced by KyoAni)

Thoughts:

SPIRAL: Who doesn’t watch K-ON, honestly?  KyoAni is probably just airing a pointless second season to make more money off the franchise.

Poro: YESH!

Loba: Fans rejoice. Others, move on.

blindability: Of course I’ll be watching this. And with any luck, I’ll get to review it too!

Mayoi Neko Overun!


http://www.patisserie-straycats.com/

Synopsis:

Anime adaptation of shounen light novel series. The story revolves around Takumi Tsuzuki, a boy who lives with his older “sister” Otome, although the two have no blood ties between them. Otome manages a run-down confectionery store called Stray Cats. One day, Otome picks up a mysterious beautiful girl off the streets. (Produced by AIC)

Thoughts:

SPIRAL: Hell, I’ve seen Nyan Koi and Omamori Himari… might as well give this cat + girl anime a shot. Looks somewhat decent but I get a feeling that it’s going to get… ecchi.

Poro: Ecchi but not as ecchi as below.

Loba: LALALALALALALA. Next.

blindability: Regardless of whether or not brothers and sisters are blood related, if they have a real brother and sister relationship, they shouldn’t develop a romantic relationship. Based on the synopsis and the animation style, I’m going to pass on this. I like cats – I’ve even adopted a stray cat – but I’m still going to pass on this.

Kiss x Sis

Synopsis:

Keita has two older step-sisters, Ako and Riko, but since they aren’t related by blood, they love him in a lustful way. After a mishap at school, Ako and Riko finally confess their love to him. Keita dislikes the thought of seeing them other then brother and sister, but as he tries to enter the same school as his sisters, he slowly becomes attracted to them. (Produced by FEEL)

Thoughts:

SPIRAL: O_O

Poro: No spiral, it’s (“”\_(O_o)_/””) @(oAo)@

Loba: The world is ending. Ending.

blindability: What did I just say!? NO.

Ikkitousen: Xtreme Xecutor

Synopsis:

Fourth season of this “bouncy” fighting ecchi anime. (Produced by TNK)

Thoughts:

SPIRAL: Never was interested in the first or second season… goodbye.

Poro: No

Loba: Xtra Xtreme Xecutor. Get it?

blindability: No thank you.

BLACK ROCK SHOOTER


Genre: Fantasy
http://www.blackrockshooter.jp/

Synopsis:

A famous 3DPV by Anomaro-P gave Black★Rock Shooter a plot line and back story, which involves her sister betraying her and turning evil and BRS being forced to kill her sister to stop the destruction. This plot eventually became the inspiration for the upcoming 2010 anime. (Produced by Ordet)

Thoughts:

SPIRAL: Hell yes.  I am going to watch.  Period.  OVA.  Period.

Poro: Good, thing it’s a OVA.  I can squeeze this into my watch list.

Loba: This looks interesting. Cosplay events, noise on the net and such. Worth a shot to go with the hype for once.

blindability: There’s been a lot of noise on the internet about this. I’m interested, though a little skeptical about the storyline itself. Vocaloids are cool, the technology very impressive, and the concept and marketing phenomenal.  But that doesn’t mean this is guranteed to be good. And will they be singing as well? Like… a Disney musical?

SEQUELS

These are the sequels that either 1) we don’t watch or 2) it’s so well-known we don’t need to explain what it is about.

Ring ni Kakero 1 Shadow

Produced by Toei

MAJOR (Season 6)

Produced by Synergy SP

Shin Koihime Musou (Otome Tairan)

Produced by Dogakobo


15 Responses to “Spring Anime 2010 Preview”


  1. 1 Joojoobees
    17 February 2010 at 1:46 pm

    LOL. Experiencing other people’s emotions is lame, but magically creating sweets gets a thumbs up?

    Regarding Five Leaves: the artwork shown so far does seem odd, but that might end up making the show more interesting. Definitely on my watch list.

  2. 27 February 2010 at 12:05 pm

    Wow nice job on this. These have to take a lot of effort to put together.

    Iron-Man: Iron-Man eh? Probably not one of my favourite heroes, but should be interesting to see how this one is handled. Since I haven’t read many comics should mostly be fresh. Besides the trailer looks amazing so I’m interested.

    Arakawa Under the Bridge: This could be interesting. I’m really not sure what to think, but I’ll probably at least check it out.

    Angel Beats: Yeah Angel Beats looks pretty interesting from the trailers. Could be a good one.
    Working!: Saw a trailer elsewhere for this and it seems like it could be fun. Oddly while I like comedy haven’t watched too many pure comedy series. Hopefully this turns out well.

    B Gata H Kei: Wow what to say about B Gata H Kei. I suppose everyone has their own dreams…..I think Spiral and blindability pretty much hit the nail on the head with there.

    Mayoi Neko Overun!: Well another neko related harem series. Not sure if I’ve hit my limit with these or not. The lead guy is hardly giving me hope since he seems like the type that will just complain about his misfortune of having numerous girls interested in him.

    Kiss x Sis: Ok the fact this series is getting a full anime is total win. The manga was hilarious and the OVAs were pretty good. Should be fun to see how far they push the envelope here.

    BLACK ROCK SHOOTER: Ok that could be interesting. At least it had a nice trailer.

    A few interesting series, though not sure which I’m really going to get into.

  3. 28 February 2010 at 8:24 am

    ;_; I miss doing these joint previews already…can I join in next season?

    I was quite excited for House of Five Leaves (Manglobe + Samurais) until I saw the trailer here. Too much Ristorante Paradiso vibes and less ass-kicking vibes for my tastes, although I’ll still give it a shot anyway. Anything that has the Noitamina tag deserves a look

    “Who doesn’t watch K-ON, honestly?”

    >>>ME<<< Although K-ON isn't as bad as Chibitalia

  4. 4 SPIRAL
    28 February 2010 at 9:19 pm

    @Flareknight
    was Kiss x Sis that good? It was funny, no doubt, but a bit questionable on content…

    @scamp
    ya man I left you a message on cartdriver

  5. 1 March 2010 at 3:51 am

    More than likely I’ll be Watching:
    Angel Beats!- Seems awesome and could live up to the hype from what I’ve seen.And I really like the music they’ve used for the past few Trailers.
    Mayoi Neko Overrun- I’m liking the manga so far, it’s got cute girls+cats, aaaand the light novels are illustrated by Peco.
    Black Rock Shooter seems as though it could be “pretty” good, but I’m still curious about the plot…
    Arakawa Under the Bridge- when I hear SHAFT I always get interested, and I’ve heard some pretty good things about the manga~

    I would never touch Ikki Tousen…not sure about KissXsis…I didn’t hate it, but it was way too over-the-top…

  6. 4 March 2010 at 2:46 pm

    @Spiral
    Hmm well I suppose Kiss x Sis is a tough one to measure. Really I thought it was pretty funny and something you could watch with a smile. Nothing incredibly deep and the content might be iffy, but overall think it will turn out fine as a series. One of those series I have to fall back on the reasoning “I like it, because I do.”

    Anyways not sure what to think about the spring season so far.

  7. 4 March 2010 at 9:37 pm

    Great work guys, I always look forward to your previews.
    Your differring views are most welcome.

    One Question: Is ok if I make use of your Preview Image on my universities anime website? It acts as a great quick reference when visiting a page. Of course I will give you guys credit.

    Great work once again.

  8. 5 January 2012 at 3:09 pm

    Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I’ve truly enjoyed browsing your blog posts. After all I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again soon!

  9. 11 February 2021 at 8:55 am

    Hello, you used to write great, but the last few posts have been kinda boring… I miss your super writings. Past several posts are just a little out of track! come on!


Leave a comment


Irashaimasen

Welcome to Bokutachi no Blog. That's "Our Blog" in Japanese. Our Anime Blog, to be exact. And if you landed to this page by accident, probably in search for ecchi stuff, then you should regret to have hit this page. Don't worry, this blog is children-safe and no misdemeanor acts here. Sorry, you bald, middle-aged perverts. But thanks for the hit anyway.

RSS Danny Choo RSS

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Blog Extra